top of page

My 13th Month Pay is Gone


My 13th month pay is gone because of bills

I want these bills to be gone forever, but still,

it keeps daunting me when I’m about to sleep

As much as I want to this but it keeps me hanging

with no choice but to pay them

The bills are the only thing that will never leave me

nor forsake me even when I die

My 13th month pay is gone because of gifts

Christmas season is here. Christmas giving is here.

My godchildren will come soon to knock on my door

and would want to see me because of the Christmas gift

that I should give to them

I’m more happier with this tradition when I was a child

but not now that I’m adulting

My 13th month pay is gone because of Noche Buena

Aside from giving gifts, preparing a sumptuous meal

during Christmas is one of our family traditions

Lechon, Leche Flan, Fruit Salad, Menudo and Rellenong Bangus

may sound extravagant as your Christmas meal but it is not sound economical

My 13th month pay is gone because of travel

Due to promos or big discounts of airline companies that it forces me to click the Book Now tab even though I know that I have

a few money left in my pocket

It may sound funny but I just can’t help but to spend

my 13th month just to feed my guilty pleasure

My 13th month pay is gone because of discounts

Ninety percent discount sale may sound crazy

but not availing it will make me insane

Let’s just say I considered this as an opportunity rather than expense

With this mindset that I have, should I blame myself or the discounts?

My 13th month pay is gone because of me

With the expenses I have done, it made me realize

that 13th month pay is gone because of me

I should have eliminated using my credit cards in order

to minimize my bills

I should have invested my money to grow it so that I can give

a gift once I have extra in my pocket

I should have chosen a simpler Noche Buena so that there

will still be money left in my bank

I should have postponed my guilty pleasure in travelling

and think of ways for another income stream where I can use

it for my travel and not on my 13th month pay

I should have stopped myself in browsing many discounted items

and just stick on one big discounted item that I bought

If I planned my spending and be frugal, my 13th month pay shouldn’t be gone


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page