top of page

Family What Ifs

I’m staring at the mirror talking to myself saying,

What if I’m born with rich parents?

I might be traveling the whole world by now,

I might be having all the things I ever wanted.

I might, but I didn’t because I’m not born with one.

What if I’m the youngest one and not the eldest?

I might be favored more than my sibling,

I might not be the breadwinner of the family,

I might be treated as precious as a baby.

I might, but I didn’t because I was the firstborn.

But what if my ‘What Ifs’ do come true!

My parents would surely not be by my side all the time

Since they’re too busy making money for a living.

They wouldn’t see me grow up as my not-so rich parents do

They wouldn’t have the time to make me feel their love

As what I keep receiving from the parents I’m born with.

And if I’d be the youngest among my siblings,

I wouldn’t have the chance to learn things first

To teach my younger sibling the do’s and don’ts

To be cared and loved first as my parent’s first baby

I wouldn’t be the role model my younger sibling says I am.

I wipe away the tears rolling down my face

As I realize what a mess my mind has been

And then I put a smile on my face and said out loud,

“I’m happy with the family I have. No more family what ifs”

Surely, I wouldn’t wish for anything more in the world

Than to have this family God has given me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page